To Contents


The Foundation is headed by the chief director, under whom serve one full-time director and a secretariat staffed with 10 members in three sections. At local offices, more than 200 full-time or part-time workers are employed besides the regular personnel, who total 40 members.

The personnel engaged in the management of the parks call themselves "BES" (Beautification Escort Staff) meaning staff helping to keep nature beautiful. They offer various services for the visitors. The local offices have their offices in visitor centers established by the state or local governments, or in the Park Service Centers established by the Foundation with support from the Japan Public Lottery Association.

The Foundation has set up the organization for appropriate governance as a public foundation and for hearing opinions from concerned citizens. It consists of the following:

(1) Board of directors: The board of directors is a decision-making body on operational plans, budgets and financial results, consisting of the governors of the prefectures concerned, and academic experts.

(2) Council: The council submits opinions and recommendations to the board of directors, and consists of the mayors of the municipalities concerned and academic experts.

(3) Local coordination committee: Normally, a local coordination committee is set up for smooth execution of operations through communication, coordination and submission of opinions under the respective local office. These committees consist of representatives from the regional offices of Ministry of the Environment, local governments and private organizations concerned as well as academic experts.

(4) Secretariat: The secretariat handles the business of the foundation and consists of a Secretary General and other staff.

Local Offices:

NoLocal OfficeContact
1 Shiretoko 〒099-4354
Shiretoko World Heritage Center, Utoro-nishi 186-10, Shari-cho, Hokkaido
2 Kawayu 〒088-3465
Kawayu Onsen 2-2-5, Teshikaga-cho, Kawakami-gun, Hokkaido
3 Akanko 〒085-0467
Akankohan Eco-Museum Center, Akanko-Onsen, Akan-cho, Kushiro-shi, Hokkaido
4 Shikotsuko 〒066-0281
Shikotsu-ko Visitor Center, Shikotsu-ko-Onsen Chitose-shi, Hokkaido
5 Noboribetsu 〒059-0551
Noboribetsu Park Service Center, Noboribetsu Onsen, Noboribetsu-shi, Hokkaido
6 Showashinzan 〒052-0102
Showa-shinzan 188-5, Soubetsu-cho, Usu-gun, Hokkaido
7 Onuma 〒014-1354
Onuma-machi 1024-1, Nanae-cho Kameda-gun, Hokkaido
8 Towada 〒018-5501
Towada-kohan Yasumiya 486, Okuse-aza, Ooaza, Towada-shi, Aomori
9 Hachimantai (Summer Season)
Park Service Center, Tozan-guchi, Mikaeri-touge, Hachimantai, Hachimantai-shi, Iwate
(Winter Season)
Yanagida 54, Hanawa-aza, Kazuno-shi, Akita
10 Jododaira 〒960-2262
Azaishipou 1-4, Zainiwasaka, Fukushima-shi, Fukushima
(Summer Season)
Jododaira Visiter Center
(Winter Season)
Azuma/Jododaira Nature Information Center
11 Nikko 〒321-1662
Nikko Yumoto Visitor Center, Yumoto, Nikko-shi, Tochigi
12 Kusatsu 〒377-1711
Tenguyama Nature Center, Oaza Kusatsu, Kusatsu-machi, Agatsuma-gun, Gunma
(Summer Season)
Kusatsu-Shirane Park Service Center
(Winter Season)
Kusatsu-Tenguyama Nature Center
13 Hakone 〒250-0522
Hakone Visitor Center, Kyu-Fudaba 164, Moto-Hakone, Hakone-machi, Ashigara-shimogun, Kanagawa
14 Kamikochi (Summer Season)
Information Center, Kamikochi, Azumi, Matsumoto-shi, Nagano
(Winter Season)
Shimajima, Kmikochi, Azumi, Matsumoto-shi, Nagano
15 Tottori Daisen
Daisen Information Center 1F, Daisen 40-33, Daisen-cho, Saihaku-gun, Tottori
Tottori Dune Park Service Center, Yuyama 2164-661, Fukube-cho, Tottori-shi, Tottori
16 Naruto 〒772-0053
Naruto-koen Park Service Center, Tosadomari-Ura Fukuchi 65-20, Naruto-cho, Naruto-shi, Tokushima
17 Unzen 〒854-0621
Unzen Mountain Information Center, Unzen 320, Obama-cho, Unzen-shi, Nagasaki
18 Aso 〒869-2225
Aso National Park ?Park Information Center, Kurokawa 974-9, Aso-shi, Kumamoto
19 Ebino 〒889-4302
Ebino Eco-Museum Center, Suenaga 1495-5, Ebino-shi, Miyazaki
20 Takachihogawara 〒899-4201
Takachiho-gawara Park Service Center, Taguchi, Kirishima-shi, Kagoshima